Central Florida can expect Heated Races For the State Legislature

House District 31, which includes northwestern Orange and Lake counties, drew four Republicans vying to replace termed out Rep. Bryan Nelson of Apopka by Friday’s noon qualifying deadline. Randy Glisson of Eustis, Belita “B” Grassel of Tavares, Terri Seefeldt of Apopka, and Jennifer Sullivan of Mount Dora will duke it out for the district, since no Democrat qualified for the heavily GOP-leaning seat.

Incumbent Rep. Mike La Rosa, R-St. Cloud, has drawn three potential Democratic challengers in his Osceola District 42 seat. Chad Carnell of Harmony, Pete Placencia of St. Cloud, and Zulma Velez-Estrada of Kissimmee will compete for the chance to put the Hispanic-heavy seat in the Democratic fold.

Two prominent incumbent Republicans – Rep. Eric Eisnaugle, R-Orlando, and Rep. Jason Brodeur, R-Sanford – drew primary challengers.

Eisnaugle, a former House member who won a spring special election for the seat vacated by Steve Precourt, is seeking the 2020 House speakership. But he’ll first have to face fellow Republican Stephen Facella in the August primary for Orange County’s HD 44 seat that runs from Winter Garden and Windermere to Lake Buena Vista.

And Brodeur will face Kathryn Townsend of Oviedo for the District 29 seat in Seminole.

Leave a Reply